Andora Trail

Yesterday I was able to take my first hike near West Hills. Our family moved here last month, and I’ve been eager to explore this beautiful area. There’s so much to see!

Yesterday evening, I dropped Dylan off at a jujitsu studio in Chatsworth and had about 90 minutes of free time, so I headed to the hills. The trailhead I found was Andora Trail, one of the entry points into the Santa Susana Pass State Historic Park. Here are highlights…

Parking was free along Andora Avenue. At the entrance, there was a backcountry board with maps and flyers.
To the west is the distinctive sandstone of the Santa Susanna Mountains. You may only be minutes from the city, but this is a peaceful paradise of rocks, plants, wildlife, and early California history.
To the east is an old water tower, the Oakwood Memorial Park, and the vast San Fernando Valley.
I chose to stay left and take the waterfall trail. Would there still be water?
Mo major waterfall, but there was a small brook with running water and several small pools. It’s no wonder native American Indians called this area home.
Winter rains have produced a good wildflower season, including this monkey flower. I’m reminded of Isaiah 55:8, “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return there, but water the earth, making it bring forth and sprout, giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose.”
Sage plant
Sunset over the San Fernando Valley
Oxcarts, stage coaches, trains, and trucks have traveled this area for hundreds of years. I wonder what stories this truck could tell.

3 thoughts on “Andora Trail”

Leave a comment